Course Detail: CNAR - 12-Hour Nurse Assistant (CNA) Refresher Course

Course Description
This 12-hour course will be a review of nurse assistant theory and hands-on skills to better prepare students for the state certification exam.

This class is appropriate for the following audiences:
  • Prior CNAs who have let their state certification lapse; 
  • Those who have had experience as a QSP or as a personal care provider in a group home setting; or
  • Current nursing students who have already completed coursework on basic nursing skills.
Minimum Age: Students must be 15 years of age by the start date of the course.

Class Schedule
Class will meet in the Bergstrom Technical Center of Lake Region State College in Devils Lake, ND from 9:00AM - 3:30PM each day. Students will be given a 30-minute lunch break.

Course Fee
The fee for this course is $350. Cost includes a Nursing Assistant textbook and lab supplies.

Important Notice
Please note that this training is not a replacement for any state-approved 75-hour nurse assistant training curriculum. If you've been advised you need to take training prior to being able to retest the state CNA exam, please see the links below for availability regarding our full, 75-hour training programs.
Felony Disclosure
According to ND Administrative Code 33-43-01-03 and 33-43-01-22, CNA class applicants with a history that includes conviction of a crime substantially related to the qualification, functions, or duties of a certified nurse aide, home health aide, nurse aide, or medication assistant may not be allowed to begin the training program or take the state certification exam without providing specific information relating to their background, criminal history, or impairment. As arrest, conviction, plea, or adjudication that occurred as a juvenile or through juvenile court authorities also applies.

Students must complete a criminal history questionnaire at the time of enrollment in the course. All information disclosed will be reviewed by TrainND Northeast and, if necessary, by the North Dakota Department of Health before students will be allowed to begin class or test.

Students who have had a prior felony charge may want to inquire with the North Dakota Nurse Aide Registry regarding their eligibility to work as a CNA prior to registering for training.

For more information contact the North Dakota Nurse Aide Registry:
1720 Burlington Drive, Suite A
Bismarck, ND 58504-7736
Phone:  701-328-2353
Fax:  701-328-1890

State Certification Exam
Students may opt to register for a state CNA exam held at LRSC following the course.  Upcoming test dates and online registration can be accessed here: Seats in the exam are available on a first-come, first-serve basis. Registration for the exam is a separate fee - see link for details.

Registration Policies
By registering for this course, I attest to meeting the prerequisites of the course and agree to the cancellation policy as indicated below.

Cancellation Policy
Cancellation more than 5 days prior to start of training results in a 25% cancellation fee based on the class fee. Cancellation 5 days or less to the start of training results in no refund.

Available Sessions