Health Education

You may also be interested in:

Upcoming Courses

Courses

With your knowledge of ACLS, are you ready to take the next step to become a certified instructor through the American Heart Association? Final requirements include 8-hours of observation of you instructing a class.


This course contains no available sessions.
Click here to be notified about the next available session.
Practice lifesaving CPR skills for the adult, child, and infant using the most current guidelines. Learn to use an AED and relieve choking. (DHS childcare providers see Pediatric First Aid/CPR/AED-ARC - HLTH-3480.) Book included.


Saturday, March 27, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, April 24, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, July 31, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Wednesday, August 11, 2021, 05:30pm - 10:00pm, TBA
Saturday, August 14, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Friday, August 20, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, August 28, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Friday, September 3, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, September 11, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Friday, September 17, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, September 25, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Friday, October 1, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, October 9, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Friday, October 22, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, October 30, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, November 6, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Friday, November 12, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, November 20, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Friday, December 3, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Saturday, December 11, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Friday, December 17, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm, CPR Lab (1303)
Practice lifesaving skills for the adult, child, and infant using American Red Cross CPR guidelines. Learn to use an AED and relieve choking. You must complete 2.5-hours of online theory in advance of the class lab date. Therefore, it is recommended that you enroll a week before the scheduled lab date. Digital book is provided. (DHS child care providers see Pediatric First Aid/CPR/AED).


Wednesday, August 25, 2021, 06:00pm - 08:00pm
Friday, September 10, 2021, 09:00am - 11:00am
Wednesday, September 15, 2021, 06:00pm - 08:00pm
Wednesday, September 29, 2021, 06:00pm - 08:00pm, TBA
Wednesday, October 20, 2021, 06:00pm - 08:00pm
Wednesday, October 27, 2021, 06:00pm - 08:00pm, TBA
Friday, November 5, 2021, 09:00am - 11:00am
Wednesday, November 17, 2021, 06:00pm - 08:00pm
Wednesday, December 1, 2021, 06:00pm - 08:00pm, TBA
Friday, December 10, 2021, 09:00am - 11:00am
With your knowledge of CPR, are you ready to take the next step to become a certified instructor through the American Heart Association? Final requirements include observation of you instructing a class.


This course contains no available sessions.
Click here to be notified about the next available session.
Develop a working knowledge of the language of medicine using word building skills. Relate these terms to body systems and identify the proper use of words in the medical environment.


January 12, 2021 to September 23, 2021, 10:00am - 07:00pm, ACD Flex Lab (2211)
July 1, 2021 to December 16, 2021, 10:00am - 07:00pm, ACD Flex Lab (2211)
September 1, 2021 to December 16, 2021, 10:00am - 07:00pm, ACD Flex Lab (2211)
Quality customer service is particularly important in the healthcare setting. You will explore techniques for creating positive internal and external customer service experiences as you practice communication techniques and identify ways to deal with stressful situations.


This course contains no available sessions.
Click here to be notified about the next available session.
Is it your desire to increase your test scores? Test-taking strategies for improving performance, pacing your time, and preparation tips all come into play in addition to knowing the subject matter. Join this class to adapt your test-taking techniques to put you at the top of the class.


This course contains no available sessions.
Click here to be notified about the next available session.
Increase your understanding of HIPAA, hazard communications, bloodborne pathogens, fire safety, and personal safety.


July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022, 11:00am - 07:00pm, ACD Flex Lab (2211)
Develop foundational skills for using the learning management system, Blackboard.


This course contains no available sessions.
Click here to be notified about the next available session.
This class meets DHS childcare licensing requirements. Designed for individuals involved in childcare, new parents, guardians, and childcare workers. Using the most current guidelines, practice lifesaving skills to rescue infants and children in cardiopulmonary distress, including prevention, first aid, and CPR. Book included.


Saturday, July 31, 2021, 08:00am - 02:30pm, ACD Lab (1305)
Saturday, August 28, 2021, 08:00am - 02:30pm, ACD Lab (1305)
This class meets DHS childcare licensing requirements. Designed for all individuals involved in childcare: new parents, guardians, and childcare workers. Practice lifesaving skills to rescue infants and children in cardiopulmonary distress, including prevention, first aid and CPR using the American Red Cross (ARC) guidelines. Digital book is provided.


Saturday, August 28, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm
Saturday, September 25, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm
Saturday, October 9, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm
Saturday, November 20, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm
Saturday, December 11, 2021, 08:00am - 12:30pm