Course Detail: SUBC - Summer Book Club - Sarah Plain and Tall | age 8-12

Form new friendships and discover what fun a book club can be! This beloved Newbery Medal-winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family and is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories. Follow along as the instructor leads the group in read-aloud time and discussion each day regarding the passage. There will also be a picture book selection and discussion along with simple crafts such as creating bookmarks and designing your own journal cover. The last day of camp you will receive a copy of the second book in the Sarah Plain and Tall series, Skylark. Bring a water bottle and a nut-free snack each day.

Community Education is concerned about the health and safety of our participants and staff. We will be taking the following steps during this class to protect everyone:
  • - We will have a smaller number of participants in each class.
  • - Participants will be reminded to wash their hands before they enter the class area. 
  • - Desks or tables will be wiped down prior to and after class.
  • - We will practice social distancing with participants at least 6 feet apart. 
  • - Supplies will be provided for each participant to avoid sharing items. 
  • - Hand sanitizer will be available. 
  • - Masks are required for children age 5+.
  • - To be compliant with ISD 728's COVID-19 guidelines, parents/guardians or siblings are not allowed to wait in district buildings while their child attends a Community Education class/activity unless they are a registered participant (parent/child classes), or have been asked to stay due to safety reasons or as a requirement of the class. In those situations, only 1 parent/guardian is allowed. Parents can accompany their child inside the building and escort them to the classroom/gym. Parents are then required to exit the building and the instructor/coach will bring students to the exterior door for pickup at the end of class.


Available Sessions